Download DOC -

yes no Was this document useful for you?
   Thank you for your participation!

* Your assessment is very important for improving the workof artificial intelligence, which forms the content of this project

Document related concepts
no text concepts found
Brussels, 26 November 2012
Environment: A good day for nature in Europe
Nearly 25 000 km2 of invaluable natural expanse have been added to the Natura 2000
network. This network of protected sites is the EU's primary tool in the fight to conserve
Europe’s rich biodiversity. The Commission has now formally approved the inclusion in the
network of a further 235 sites, proposed by Member States for recognition as "Sites of
Community Importance". Member States will have six years to put the necessary
measures in place to protect these sites. The latest update concerns 20 Member States
and covers all nine of the network's bio-geographical regions – the Alpine, Atlantic, Black
Sea, Boreal, Continental, Macaronesian, Mediterranean, Pannonian and Steppic regions.
Natura 2000 now covers 768 000 km2 (17.9 %) of the EU landmass and more than
217 000 km2 (approx. 4 %) of its seas.
Commissioner Potočnik said: “I congratulate these Member States for another significant
contribution to the protection of Europe's natural capital. The Natura 2000 network forms
the backbone of our efforts to protect the natural world, and is vital for biodiversity. In
addition, it also offers attractive spaces to explore and relax, and it provides ample
opportunities to develop new economic activities based on these valuable natural assets.
The expansion is good news for nature, and good news for us."
The main countries involved in the expansion are the United Kingdom, Romania, Latvia,
Italy, Sweden, Bulgaria, Denmark, France, Slovakia, Estonia and Malta.
The most significant addition this year is the UK's designation of Dogger Bank
(12 330 km2), a shallow sea area featuring submerged sandbanks in the central part of
the North Sea. Together with adjacent sites from Germany and the Netherlands, this
creates a vast trans-boundary Natura 2000 site covering over 18 000 km2. Dogger Bank
was primarily designated for its highly productive sandbank habitats, which are important
spawning and nursery grounds for many commercial fisheries. The designation will
facilitate the coordinated management of the area, including joint efforts by the Member
States concerned to develop appropriate fisheries measures.
The major additions in the Baltic were Sweden's and Latvia's designations of 10 new
marine areas. These sites host species-rich sandbank and reef habitats and offer vital
feeding grounds for seals and migratory fish. The 10 sites cover a marine surface of
almost 4 000 km2.
Relative to its size, the country with the largest contribution was Malta, with 183 km2 of
marine areas now designated, creating the basis for a solid marine network in the
surrounding waters. The new Maltese marine sites will help the conservation of Posidonia
sea grass beds and submerged reefs, and offer a vital habitat for the endemic Maltese
Topshell Gibbula nivosa, a brightly coloured sea snail.
The largest expansion of the network on land took place in Romania. 109 sites were
added and many existing sites enlarged, so that the total area of sites now covers almost
42 000 km2. The additions comprise a vast array of species-rich meadow and forest
habitats, and vital habitats for many rare and endangered species, including many bat and
amphibian species. Together with additional sites proposed by Bulgaria and the Slovak
Republic, the new Romanian Natura 2000 sites also provide improved protection for the
rich endemic fish fauna of the Danube River Basin.
Natura 2000 is a network of protected areas, consisting of Special Areas of Conservation
established under the EU Habitats Directive and Special Protection Areas established under
the EU Birds Directive. Natura 2000 is not a straight jacket: activities such as farming,
tourism, forestry and leisure pursuits can still be carried out inside the network as long as
they are sustainable and in harmony with the natural environment.
Member States choose their Natura 2000 sites established under the Habitats Directive in
partnership with the Commission, and once selected, the areas are formally recognised by
the Commission as "Sites of Community Importance" as has now happened. This process
confirms the formal status of the sites, and fixes the obligations to protect them. Member
States then have six years to put the necessary management measures in place and
designate the sites as Special Areas of Conservation.
The latest update concerns 20 Member States, and increases the number of "Sites of
Community Importance" by 235. The recent additions cover all nine of the network's biogeographical regions – the Alpine, Atlantic, Black Sea, Boreal, Continental, Macaronesian,
Mediterranean, Pannonian and Steppic regions.
The range of protected areas is vast, from flower-rich meadows to cave systems and
lagoons. The nine bio-geographical regions of the network reflect the wide variety of the
EU's biodiversity.
Biodiversity – a limited resource that is the variety of life on earth – is in crisis. Species
are being lost at an unprecedented rate, with irreversible consequences for our future. The
European Union is combating this and recently set itself a new objective of halting
biodiversity loss in Europe by 2020, protecting ecosystem services such as pollination or
flood defences (and restoring these services where they are degraded), and stepping up
the EU contribution to averting global biodiversity loss. Natura 2000 is a key tool needed
to reach that objective.
For more information:
More details on EU Nature policy:
For more details on this expansion, see MEMO/12/889
Contacts :
Joe Hennon (+32 2 295 35 93)
Monica Westeren (+32 2 299 18 30)