Download File

yes no Was this document useful for you?
   Thank you for your participation!

* Your assessment is very important for improving the work of artificial intelligence, which forms the content of this project

Document related concepts
no text concepts found
In 1901, the Commonwealth of Australia was formed.
Until this time, Australia used Britain's flag, the Union
Jack. A competition was held to find the design for
Australia's own flag. Five designers shared the prize
because they came up with similar ideas for the
Australian flag.In the top left hand corner is the Union
Jack. This shows that Australia is part of the British
Commonwealth. Beneath the Union Jack is a large white
star with seven points. The points represent the six
states and the territories. Originally this star had six
points. The seventh point, for the territories was
added in 1908.On the right hand side are the stars of
the Southern Cross. The southern Cross was chosen
because it can always be seen in the Australian sky at
The Aboriginal Flag was designed by Harold Thomas, an artist and an Aboriginal,
in 1971. The flag was designed to be an eye-catching rallying symbol for the
Aboriginal people and a symbol of their race and identity. The black
represents the Aboriginal people, the red the earth and their spiritual
relationship to the land, and the yellow the sun, the giver of life.In the late
1960s, Aborigines stepped up their campaign for indigenous land rights
through protest marches, demonstrations, banners and posters. The protests
increased in the early 1970s and Harold Thomas noticed they were often
outnumbered by non-Aborigines with their own banners and placards. He
decided they needed to be more visible and the idea of the flag was born.
The Aboriginal flag was first raised in Victoria Square in Adelaide on National
Aboriginal Day in 1971, but was adopted nationally by Aborigines and Torres
Strait Islanders in 1972 after it was flown above the Aboriginal "Tent
Embassy" outside of the old Parliament House in Canberra.The Aboriginal
flag is increasingly being flown by both Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal people.
In view of its increasing importance in Australian society, the Government
initiated steps in 1994 to give the flag legal recognition.
After a period of public consultation, the
Government made its own decision in July
1995 that the flag should be proclaimed a
"Flag of Australia" under section 5 of the
Flags Act 1953.The flag was so
proclaimed by the Governor General of
Australia, William Hayden, on 14 July
The Koala is one of Australia's best known
animals. It is an icon represented when
promoting Australia to the tourist
industry, and in general people adore
these cuddly creatures. There are two
species of them, the Southern and the
Northern Koala bears.Koalas are often
referred to as a Koala bear. However
they are not a bear. The name Koala
comes from an Aboriginal word. It means
"no drink",as Koalas get enough fluids
through the eucalyptis leaves they feed
Koalas are found all over east Australia, mainly
in the south east.The male Koalas are larger
than the females. They have a grey soft
furred coat, with a white chest. A flat nose
and big ears, and clawed feet for climbing.
The Koalas feed on eucalyptis leaves,which
they have a variety of twelve different
species to choose from.
Did you know?
Koalas make an extremely loud and agressive
growling noise.
The Great Barrier Reef has some of the highest marine life diversity in
the world,including:
450 type of corals
1500 types of fish
4000 types of molluscs
There are more different species of animals and plants in a cubic
metre of the Great Barrier Reef than in any other environment in
the world – including tropical rainforests. In fact, some reefs in the
Great Barrier Reef have more different fish types than in the entire
Caribbean Ocean.
The Great Barrier Reef is the largest coral reef system in the world.
It is found in the Coral Sea, off the coast of Queensland, Australia.
The Great Barrier Reef is the world’s largest living structure.
It is made up of around 2900 individual reefs and 900 islands.
The Great Barrier Reef is around 2600 kilometres in length.
Astronauts can see the Great Barrier Reef from space.
Marine animals called coral,play an important role in the
formation of the Great Barrier Reef.
The Great Barrier Reef is home to a wide range of life,including
fish,sea turtles,giant clam,seahorse,sea snakes,nudibranch,sea
turtles,stingray,sharks and many more.
Over 1500 different species of fish live` in the Great Barrier
Reef,including clownfish, star of the animated film Finding Nemo.
Whales,dolphins and dugong can also be seen in the Great Barrier
The Great Barrier Reef is a popular tourist destination with
around 2 million visitors every year.
Australia's capital city is Cranberra.
Australia is the only country that is also a
Beef is the most popular meat in Australia.
Some Aborigines, native people, eat insects.
Did you know that at one time Australia was a
group of British colonies?
The Sydney Opera House is one of the world's
most famous building.
Cricket,Football,rugby,and soccer are very
popular in Australia.
Australia is estimated to be 7,692,024 square
Australia have the most venomous snakes in the